Twist and Shout

IMG_0891As some of you may know I got a spiralizer for my birthday last month, and those same people will know that I was ridiculously excited to try it out!

So, as I was so excited, you might be wondering why it took me so long. Well, actually it didn’t, and I very eagerly got it out the box to give it a go not long after my birthday… Only to find I was missing the instructions. Not ideal, but not the end of the world, and the company my mother got it from were very accommodating and sent us some replacement instructions.

Great! I was ready to go.

Or so I thought…

IMG_0894

IMG_0897

Everything you need to use your spiralizer can be packed away really easily and conveniently – you’ll never lose an attachment or struggle with storing it.

So a quick guide for those unfamiliar with a spiralizer. This particular model works by attaching a vegetable to the green spikes. These spikes are linked to the handle, which is turn is connected to a sliding platform. As you turn the handle, you gently push the platform forward and the vegetable rotates against the blade, producing your ribbons.

One thing I love about this spiralizer is that it is compact, easy to store and simple to put together. I had it up and ready to go in no time. I attached my vegetable of choice (a carrot if anyone’s interested) to the green spikes and turned the handle.

The vegetable (carrot) fell off. Not a spiral in sight.

Not to be deterred I continued trying. And the vegetable (carrot) continued falling off.

Needless to say I got a bit frustrated, so I cleaned it up and put it away.

I repeated this process a couple of times, and I was beginning to get quite annoyed. I tried everything I could think of – I used the different attachments that come with it (you have the option of fine, medium, course or ribbon spirals), and I wondered if maybe I needed a thicker more sturdy vegetable – but I still didn’t seem to be having much luck.

IMG_0888However I persevered, and I’m thrilled I did because I finally got it to work. On the blade attachments there is a small silver, let’s say prong, which I discovered you needed to wedge the vegetable onto. Once the vegetable has been secured between the prong and the spikes the spiralizer works effortlessly.

Actually, I only have a couple of negatives about it, the first being that I find it quite difficult to get the suction pads on the bottom to stick the kitchen surface, which means the spiralizer moves as you turn the handle. The second is that you are left with maybe a couple of centimetres of whichever vegetable you use, as a ridge stops the handle and the platform from coming into contact with the blade – not that this too much of a problem as you can just cut the remaining piece up yourself.

This of course is excellent news, not just because it opens up a world of culinary possibilities (I’m very much looking forward to giving my own curly fries a go and being able to make courgette noodles much more easily), but also because I will be able to have some lovely carrot ribbons to go in my lunch.

I believe that’s a win.

Leave a Reply

