Just Keep Going

Already we’re in the second month of 2017 and the chilled out attitudes from Christmas have well and truly evaporated. Now is the time to evaluate just how well the New Year’s Resolutions are going, and whether we’ve managed to create the good habits and kick the bad.

My resolution was that I wanted to go back to the motivated individual I used to be when it came to different activities, one of which was exercise.

For the most part it’s going well – for me it’s all about finding a way to focus on something else while my body goes through the pain. My legs know how to run and my body knows how to swim, so I find letting my mind wander (although obviously it kicks back in when it’s time to cross the road) allows me to push myself further.

In week one I ran my short route but found it quite easy, so went to my longer route for week two – I haven’t done this since 2015 when I was training for the 5k Race for Life, but managed to keep myself going all the way around.

Has it become a habit yet? No, I don’t think so – there’s still an element of ‘I can’t really be bothered’ during the day, but the fact that I get out and go is definitely a step in the right direction and a step closer to making being active a part of my routine.

I think it helps that I enjoy the exercises I’ve chosen – both swimming and running are things that allow me to have a bit of ‘me time’, plus I actually get quite a bit done during the time – I make lists, write blogs (where do you think the general gist for this one came from?).

All in all, I think progress is being made. I’m not there yet but I’m on the right track. I just have to keep running, keep swimming and keep going.

Leave a Reply

