Adulting Proper

Yikes!

I know what you’re thinking: ‘well, that new year’s resolution about blogging regularly soon went up in smoke’. Well I suppose it did, though not through any fault of my own. It’s funny, you don’t realise how much you rely on the internet until you don’t have it.

You see, I have finally become a proper adult and moved in with my boyfriend, and unfortunately connecting the internet took a little longer than expected…

It’s going quite well I think – I haven’t poisoned him with my cooking (though to be fair I did make it through three years of university without poisoning myself so maybe that’s not such an achievement), and we’ve managed to keep the house quite tidy (a massive achievement as anyone who’s seen my bedroom at home… My parents’ house will confirm).

It’s quite a strange one really, this living on your own malarky. Whereas before if I was bored I’d simply watch some television or write something, now I find myself looking around thinking, ‘what chores need doing while I’m at a loose end?’ That quite annoys my boyfriend as usually this occurs when he’s at the football – he hates the idea that he’s been off enjoying/annoying (depending on the score) himself while I’ve been beavering away. In fact that’s where he is now, and I’m sitting on the sofa catching up on my television and making a conscious effort not to go and do the washing up or start hoovering (although I have just remembered that I put some washing in the machine… Best go and hang that up when I’m done).

So, now the blogging can be back on track, how is the exercise going?

Well, that’s going very well actually, thank you for asking. I’ve been concentrating on toning and strengthening exercises, and do feel that I’m getting stronger each week. To me, that is the most important thing, seeing improvements in how many reps I can do, the weights I’m lifting and how I feel afterwards. I don’t put much emphasis on how much I weigh because it is all too easy to become obsessed.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I feel that’s quite an adult view (certainly not one I would have had before). Adulting proper is quite a scary prospect sometimes, and I very much doubt I’m going to get it right all the time, but I don’t think I’m doing too badly.

Now, best go hang that washing up… Forgot to mention how exiting adulting proper was didn’t I?

Leave a Reply

